My Records

1. Rising: A Modern Cantata for the World to Come

Buy Now!

A groundbreaking, Jazz-influenced chamber music setting of the most revered collection of Jewish prayers, the Amidah.

Featuring the voice and guitar of Julie Lavender and the arrangements of twice Grammy-nominated Jazz orchestra composer and arranger, Kim Richmond, and a cast of highly acclaimed musicians from the East and West Coasts.

What is “Rising?”

“Rising” is a groundbreaking, Jazz-influenced chamber music piece based on Jewish prayer that is I’m guessing is unlike anything you will have ever experienced before.

What does the music sound like?

The music is shaped by Jazz, Classical and Pop Music with unexpected and surprising new songs and sounds. It is a take on the Classical Cantata form that makes it exciting, approachable and enjoyable for any set of ears.

What is it about? What might I expect to experience?

The subject of the piece is also unique. Imagine ancient, poetic prayers, (in modern English) expressed as an art form for anyone to relate to. At our live events, ancient and modern spiritual expression will naturally and joyously unfold through dance, art, storytelling, learning and the music of this Jazz-infused, popular chamber music.

Who’s featured in the music?

The Rising music/recording features the compositions, voice and Jazz/Classical guitar of Julie Lavender and the arrangements of twice Grammy-nominated Jazz orchestra composer and arranger, Kim Richmond, and a cast of highly acclaimed musicians from the East and West Coasts (including Bertram Lehmann and Eugene Friesen).

Here is what Boston area professional musicians and academics are saying about “Rising”:

“Julie has knocked this project into the next dimension. A must listen for all.”

(Scott deOgburn: Composer, Professional Jazz Pianist and Trumpet Player, Author, Professor at Berklee College of Music)

“A rare contemporary work where musicality and spirituality meet most effortlessly and unpretentiously.”

“Exquisite songwriting and lush, Jazz-inflected chamber music textures and the ancient power of Jewish prayer traditions.”

(Bertram Lehmann: Internationally Recognized Percussionist, Composer, Enthomusicologist, Berklee College of Music Faculty Member)

”Jewish prayers like they never been experienced before . . . and from a very unexpected source. This is uplifting music and poetic prose that can reach into any heart.”

(Rabbi Richard Nichol, Senior Rabbi of Congregation Ruach Israel)

“A scintillating blend. . .unique . . .never predictable. . . continually unfolds new musical ideas and surprises.”

(Ian Ethan Case: Composer, Innovator, Multi-instrumentalist and Candy Rat Records Recording Artist, recognized internationally for his mastery of the 18-string acoustic guitar and his visionary compositions.)

“ . . . a body of songs and movements that carry the spirit of freedom and worship to another level. Julie’s wonderfully clear singing voice and her ingenious and supple guitar accompaniments carry the day.”

(Kim Richmond: Twice Grammy-nominated Jazz Orchestra composer and arranger, educator and woodwind master.)

2. The Siddur Project

Buy Now!

Singer-songwriter Julie Lavender, sets luminous poetry from the ancient Jewish prayer book to her own fresh, multi-faceted, jazz-influenced music. This intriguing project features top East Coast jazz players, also highlighting Julie’s striking visual art.

  1. Hareini Mekasher
  2. Atipat Tallit
  3. Mah Tovu
  4. Ruach HaKodesh
  5. Birkat HaTorah
  6. Akeidah
  7. Attah Hu
  8. Shochen Ad
  9. Yishtabach
  10. Modim
  11. Magnify Adonai
  12. Birkat Cohanim

3. Interior Design

Buy Now!

Interior Design is spacious, intimate, and promising. It is the essence of Song speaking potently through the welcoming vibrance of a voice that is buttery smooth, achingly expressive, playful and soaring.

Interior Design is a bland of colors, moods and influences. Julie Lavender is designing her very own eclectic spaces and inviting the listener inside.

Julie plays piano, guitar and sings her own originals as well as several covers which she arranged. The album features her music in a fresh, acoustic setting, enhanced by the artful counterpoint of flute, oboe, saxophone, vibraphone and percussion.

  1. Interior Design
  2. Because of the Moon
  3. All Alone Here With You
  4. O What a Beautiful Mornin’
  5. I Never Dreamed
  6. Let It Rain
  7. The Time of My Life
  8. Sweet Prince
  9. Bare Necessities
  10. Trust In Me
  11. Oceans
  12. When You Touch a Dream

4. Never Felt the Sun

Buy Now!

In Never Felt the Sun, Brazilian and classical music, Latin rhythms, contemporary and mainstream jazz sounds merge with pop music to provide a sophisticated yet sensitive backdrop for Julie’s warm, expressive voice and her unique and intuitive writing style.

Ranging from songs that are intricately orchestrated all the way to songs that are poignantly minimal, this project will take you on an engaging journey outside your own box. Never Felt the Sun with it’s diverse pallet of color, light and shade paints and vocative musical picture of deep spiritual awakening.

This CD features performances by world- renowned jazz flutist, Hubert Laws and legendary Broadway and film composer Hugh Martin.

  1. Never Felt the Sun
  2. Stop
  3. Veil
  4. Tree
  5. Tin Man
  6. Morning Song
  7. Velvet Arms of Midnight
  8. Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5 Aria
  9. When I Fall…
  10. Here Come the Dreamers

5. Good Woman

Buy Now!

On her debut album, Good Woman, Julie unleashes her pure soprano on ten of her own jazzy compositions and her unexpectedly amusing rendition of “Brain” (If I Only Had A…) She also adds guitar and keyboards, produces and arranged two of the tracks. The tunes are hip, witty and often poignant, showcasing her songwriting and vocal chops.

Julie Lavender is accompanied here by a group of world-class Southern California studio musicians including her producer and arranger, Kamau Kenyatta, who has worked with veteran musicians Patti Austin and Earl Klugh. Also featured on the album is Greg Philliganes (Barbara Streisand, Anita Baker, George Benson, Quincy Jones).

  1. Good Woman
  2. We’ll Find a Way
  3. Underneath the Streets
  4. Inspiration
  5. Don’t Ask Me What I’m Thinkin’
  6. Photographs
  7. Mr. Fear
  8. Song for the Sower
  9. Brain (If I Only Had a…)
  10. Prodigal
  11. Fly Away With You